Three students awarded scholarships for 2017

By November 11, 2016News

The board, staff, students and graduates of Toi Whakaari were thrilled to congratulate three of our best and brightest at this year’s graduation ceremony.

Second year acting students Puawai Winterburn (Ngati Raukawa, Ngapuhi, Ngati Porou) and Richard MacDonald (Tuhoe) were recipients of this year’s prestigious Bill Guest Awards and second year management student Olivia Chan received the inaugural Ruku Ao Award at the event on 9 November.


Puawai Winterburn and Bill Guest

The Bill Guest Award is named in honour of the former Toi Whakaari Associate Director and covers a full year’s tuition fees. Thanks to increased generosity from school supporters we were able to offer two awards in Bill’s name this year. Students are nominated by their student peers (or staff) and are then required to write a response to their nomination.


Bill Guest and Richard MacDonald

The Ruku Ao Award is a new initiative made possible through the generosity of Ruku Ao alumni who have come together to contribute towards the tuition fees for a student entering their final year at the school. Recipient Liv was also nominated by her peers and received her award from Lola Toppin-Casserly and Ma’anaima Lafoa’i, both of whom completed Ruku Ao in 2015.


Lola Toppin-Casserly, Liv Chan and Ma’anaima Lafoa’i


Leave a Reply