Toi Graduates among Chapman Tripp 2012 nominees & winners!

By November 20, 2012News

A huge congratulations to all those who won or were nominated for this year’s Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards!

And a special congratulations to all the Toi Whakaari graduates and staff who were in among them, there were quite a few! Here they are: (winners are highlighted)

Circa Award donated by Tact for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year: Emmett Skilton – Paper Sky  (Acting 2009), Tim Carlsen – One Day Moko (Acting 2009) and Tola Newbury – The Prospect (Acting 2010)

The Emerging Artist Trust Wellington Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year: Hayley Sproull – Miss Fletcher Sings the Blues (Acting 2011), Moana Ete – The Prospect (Acting 2010) and Victoria Abbott - West End Girls (Acting 2011)

Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington Most Promising New Director of the Year: Melanie Camp – Immaculate (Directing 2012)

Brancott Estate Award for Costume Designer of the Year: Jane Boocock – West End Girls (Costume 2009)

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer of the Year: Laurie Dean – The Mourning After (ET and Advanced Dip 2004) and Lisa Maule – Michael James Manaia (ET Senior Tutor)

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year: Daniel Williams – The Tigers of Wrath (Design 2006)

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year sponsored by Bats Theatre and Taki Rua Productions: Tim Carlsen – One Day Moko (Acting 2009)

The Absolutely Positively Award for the Supporting Actress of the Year: Juanita Hepi – The Maori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira (Acting 2009), Michele Amas – Peninsula (Acting 1984) and Nancy Brunning – Clybourne Park (Acting 1991)

Whitireia Performing Arts and Chapman Tripp Award for the Supporting Actor of the Year: Rawiri Paratene – The Maori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira (Acting 1972) and Rob Lloyd – The Prospect (Acting 2004)

The Chapman Tripp Accolade for an Outstanding Performance
Te Kohe Tuhaka – Michael James Manaia (Acting 2004)

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year: David O’Donnell – West End Girls (Acting 1979), Jane Waddell – Peninsula (Acting 1975) and Rachel House – The Maori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Raua Ko Kahira (Acting 1993)

Well done everyone!

Leave a Reply